Return to Headlines

Effingham County School District Salutes Board Member Efforts

The Effingham County School District is joining in a statewide celebration this month to salute the efforts of local school board members.  This observance of local board members calls attention to their many contributions.

As constitutional officers of Georgia, school board members are responsible for setting educational policies, serving as advocates for students in local public schools, and making decisions that are in the best interest of those students. Board members are the community’s voice for educational matters, and they help set and implement the vision for the school district.

The men and women serving our school district and their years of service are: 

Mrs. Lynn Anderson, District 1
Current term: January 1, 2019 – December 31, 2022

Mr. Troy K. Alford, District 2 (Vice Chair)
Current term: January 1, 2017 – December 31. 2020

Mr. F. Lamar Allen, District 3 (Board Chair)
Current term: January 1, 2017 – December 31, 2020

Mr. Ben Johnson, District 4
Current term: August 15, 2019 – March 24, 2020

Mrs. Vickie Decker, District 5
Current term: January 1, 2017 -  December 31, 2020

The Georgia School Board Association sponsors this statewide celebration honoring Board members across Georgia.  The mission of GSBA is to ensure excellence in the governance of local school systems by providing leadership, advocacy and services, and by representing the collective resolve of Georgia’s elected boards of education.  Please visit for more information. 

Board Members

Pictured (L-R): Ben Johnson, F. Lamar Allen, Lynn Anderson, Troy K. Alford, Vickie Decker