Return to Headlines

ECSD 2019 GSBA Governance Team of the Year Finalist

On December 4, 2019, Effingham County School District was recognized as a finalist for the GSBA 2019 Governance Team of the Year Award. This annual award is presented to one Georgia public school district’s board of education and superintendent who have achieved all-around success in their district. According to the GSBA, this recognition is deeply rooted in the components of the Georgia Vision Project’s research-based recommendations for Georgia’s public schools.

“This group of governance team finalists from Georgia sets a high bar for best practices, student achievement and community engagement. We are proud of the accomplishments of these teams and the example they set for all of us.” said Frank Griffin, GSBA President and Chair of the Lee County Board of Education.

ECSD was honored to be recognized along with 8 other outstanding finalists and extends their congratulations to Forsyth County, the winner of this prestigious award.

Board members at GSBA annual conference Pictured (L-R): Chairman Lamar Allen, Vice Chairman Troy Alford, Lynn Anderson, Vickie Decker, Ben Johnson, Dr. Randy Shearouse