Skip To Main Content

Social & Emotional Learning

Social & Emotional Learning Graphic


Effingham County Schools adopted the Collaborative for Academic, Social, and Emotional Learning (CASEL) Competencies as our framework for Social and Emotional Learning. These Five Core Competencies are integrated to promote interpersonal, intrapersonal and cognitive skills and abilities.  The five core competencies are:  self-awareness, social awareness, responsible decision-making, self-management, and relationship skills.  Each of the five competencies has clear descriptions for providing a roadmap for all students and staff.  Effingham County Schools provides a layered approach to social and emotional learning in the hope of fostering systemic change and healthy development of individuals.

Ms. Kate Keith

Kate Keith, headshot
Social Emotional Learning Coordinator
Email Me

Dr. Jackie Brown-Pinkney
Dr. Brown-Pinkney, headshot

 Social Emotional Learning Assistant Coordinator

Email Me


Social & Emotional Learning

Student Support