• books and apple
    Department of Exceptional
    Student Services
    School Psychologists
     
     
    Who Are School Psychologists?
    School psychologists help students succeed academically, socially and emotionally.  They collaborate with teachers, administrators, parents and other professionals to create safe, healthy, and supportive learning environments for all students that strengthen connections between home and school.
     
    School psychologist are highly trained in both psychology and education. They are certified by the state of Georgia and may also be nationally certified.
     
    What is the function of the School Psychologist?
    School psychologists work to find the best solutions for each student and situation; they use different strategies to address student needs and to improve school and district-wide support systems.
     
    School psychologists work with students individually and in groups.  They develop programs to assist teachers and parents with effective teaching and learning strategies, techniques to manage behavior at home and in the classroom and work with students with disabilities or special talents.  They also assist in preventing and managing crises.
     
    The School psychologists collaborate with teachers, parents and administrators to find effective solutions to learning and behavior problems as well as strengthen working relationships between teachers, parents and service providers. 
     
    School psychologists evaluate eligibility for special services, assess academic skills and aptitude for learning, and determine social-emotional development and mental health status. 

    Leslie Merritt (Department Head)
    lmerritt@effingham.k12.ga.us
    Ebenezer Elementary School*
    Ebenezer Middle School
    STEM @ Effingham College & Career Academy

    Kim Fulcher
    kfulcher@effingham.k12.ga.us
    Blandford Elementary School
    Effingham County Middle School*
    Effingham County High School

    Heather Kelly
    hkelly@effingham.k12.ga.us
    Marlow Elementary School*
    Sand Hill Elementary School

    Kristy Lanier
    klanier@effingham.k12.ga.us
    Guyton Elementary School*
    Springfield Elementary School

    Stacy Stinner
    sstinner@effingham.k12.ga.us
    South Effingham Elementary
    South Effingham Middle School*
    South Effingham High School

    Susan Westphal
    swestphal@effingham.k12.ga.us
    Rincon Elementary School*

    Beth Vance
    bvance@effingham.k12.ga.us
    Rincon Learning Center*

    *denotes home school