• Georgia Milestones (GMAS) Information

    • The following information was taken from the Georgia Department of Education website (http://www.gadoe.org/Curriculum-Instruction-and-Assessment/Assessment/Pages/Georgia-Milestones-Assessment-System.aspx):
       The Georgia Milestones Assessment System (Georgia Milestones) is a comprehensive summative assessment program spanning grades 3 through high school. Georgia Milestones measures how well students have learned the knowledge and skills outlined in the state-adopted content standards in English Language Arts, mathematics, science, and social studies. Students in grades 3 through 8 take an end-of-grade assessment in English Language Arts and mathematics while students in grades 5 and 8 are also assessed in science and social studies. High school students take an end-of-course assessment for each of the ten courses designated by the State Board of Education.

      Features the Georgia Milestone Assessment System include:

      • open-ended (constructed-response) items in English Language Arts and mathematics (all grades and courses);
      • a writing component (in response to passages read by students) at every grade level and course within the English Language Arts assessment;
      • norm-referenced items in all content areas and courses, to complement the criterion-referenced information and to provide a national comparison; and
      • online administration considered the primary mode of administration 


      Links for Parents (which can also be found on the gadoe.org website):

      Study Guide for Students and Parents

      GMAS Achievement Levels

      Questions and Answers for Parents

      Lexile Resources


       All testing will be done online. Students should be given opportunities to practice on this site and manipulate the tools. Georgia Experience Online:    http://www.gaexperienceonline.com/