• School Board Meetings
  • Map of Board Member Districts


  • Board Members 2020
    School Board Members L to R:
    Back: Vice Chair Vickie Decker, Jan Landing, Lynn Anderson,
    Front: Ben Johnson, Chairman Lamar Allen, Dr. Yancy Ford
    Effingham County Schools are governed by a five-member board, responsible for setting system-wide school policies designed to deliver the best possible education to each child. These policies govern budgetary, facility and personnel resources, as well as the students, faculty, and staff at each school. School board policies also ensure that the local schools comply with state and federal laws.
    Board members are elected from five militia districts and consider themselves servants of all Effingham County school children and their parents, representing the best interest of all citizens and the 15 public schools currently operating in the district.
    School board members are elected every two years on a staggered basis, to hold four-year terms. The recent elections result has named F. Lamar Allen as Chairman and Vickie Decker as Vice-Chair.
    Board members, as part of their service, expect to hear from constituents regarding school-related issues. Parents and individuals who seek information regarding their own children's unique circumstances are asked to review the policies contained in the appendix, speaking first with their children's teachers and then the school principal before contacting other administrative personnel and/or board members.

Meet the Board

  • Lynn Anderson District 1
  • Jan Landing District 2
  • Lamar Allen District 3
  • Ben Johnson District 4
  • Vickie Decker District 5
    Vice Chairperson

Board Member - Map

  • Board Members - Map


  • The Effingham County School District is proud to announce the achievement and status of the Georgia School Boards Association’s (GSBA) 2022 Exemplary School Board recognition.

    The recognition program is designed to showcase best practices in school governance and leadership. GSBA recognizes good school board governance to foster educational community cultures in order to advance student learning and achievement.

    The Effingham County School Board met and/or exceeded the criteria set forth by GSBA to earn the honor of a 2022 Exemplary Board. The criteria may be reviewed by clicking here for more information.

    The GSBA Governance Team Recognition Program was developed by Georgia superintendents and board members based on the state board of education’s standards for effective governance to recognize exemplary leadership.

    In 1998, the Georgia School Boards Association was one of the first school board associations in the nation to develop a program of standards for local boards of education.

    The GSBA Board recognition program is a three-tiered program. For more information on the program, you may visit the GSBA website for awards and recognition or to view the criteria for all tiers of the program.

    Pictured (L-R): Lynn Anderson, Ben Johnson, F. Lamar Allen - Chair, Jan Landing, Vickie Decker - Vice Chair, Yancy Ford

    exemplary board badge
      Last Modified on May 28, 2023