1589 Hwy 119 South . Springfield, GA 31329 P: 912.754.6404 . F: 912.754.6893

Online Drivers Ed Course Now Available to ECHS Students

Effingham County High School's Online Driver’s Education Course is available for only $55. The course is powered by Virtual Drive of Georgia which offers the most advanced information and training techniques required to begin a safe driving career. It is a computer-based-learning technology, is state licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver Services, and has a proven track record in many states for producing safe drivers.

All that's needed for your permit, license, insurance discount (check with your insurance provider), and tax rebate is included in this course!
30 hours of Computer-Based-Learning in our Virtual Classroom
In-Car Driver Training Guides for Parents
Integrated in curriculum are more than 20 videos
All Georgia Department of Driver Services Forms
Electronic Assessments and Worksheets
Certificate of Completion
Technical Support
12 Months to complete the Course
Take until you pass
 
Client Testimonial: " My dad was going to sign me up for drivers ed at the local high school, just as my brothers had done before me, when I mentioned that one of my friends had taken drivers ed online. He checked out several companies, picked the best, and ending up saving big bucks. The Virtual Drive course is perfect for my "computer" generation. I could work on my own time from my own computer... or even computers at school or the library. I didn't have to get up early on my summer vacation to sit in another classroom and finished the course much quicker than I planned because the interactive lessons were fun and made learning easy. I passed the test with flying colors and received the certificate to take to GA Department of Driver Services so I can get my license before I turn 17. I highly recommend this course. Now if I can just get my dad to give me some of the savings toward a car!!! - G. A. J., Loganville, Georgia

More information on requirements for Georgia teen drivers

The following information is being provided to help clarify the new law affecting any Georgia student who will be 16-years-old in 2007 and who chooses to apply for a Class D Driver's License.

What is "Joshua's Law"?

Senate Bill 226 also known as "Joshua's Law" was passed during the 2005 General Assembly. Beginning January 1, 2007, all 16-year-olds applying for a Class D driver's license must complete an approved driver education course AND complete a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night, with a parent or guardian's sworn verification that these driving requirements have been met.

Any Georgia student who has not completed an approved driver education course must wait until age 17 to be eligible for a Class D driver's license. He or she must still complete a total of at least 40 hours of supervised driving, including at least 6 hours at night. The same verification in writing by a parent or guardian is required. In lieu of a professional driver’s education course a student may take a state licensed 30 hour driver's education course on-line.

Students do not need a learner's permit for the classroom course or the virtual/online program; however, they will need to hold a learner's permit for 1 year and 1 day prior to being issued a Class D license. A learner’s permit is required for the behind-the-wheel driving. Students can complete their supervised driving hours concurrent to taking a driver's education class provided that they have a learner's permit.
 
CLOSE